Underbelly: The Story of Houston Food

Most Fridays, my co-workers and I enjoy trying different Houston restaurants. I had read about Underbelly in Bon Appetit’s top 50 new restaurants in the U.S. and wanted to check it out. The restaurant is described as “the story of Houston food” and has intriguing dishes on the menu. Some of the dishes we tried were the Butter Biscuits and Chicken Gravy (pictured) and Korean Braised Goat and Dumplings. We also tried a fried strawberry pie and a what I believe was a beet flan with a honey brittle. The food was excellent and I will definitely be going back. One of the things that makes the dining experience so wonderful is the design of the restaurant. As soon as I walked in, I thought “I want my kitchen to look like this someday.” Guests sit at handcrafted tables and chairs and have a view of the open kitchen. Canned goods, wine glasses and kitchen items are displayed on beautiful wooden shelves throughout the main dining room.

Leave a Reply

