Pannukakku: Finnish Pancake

Pannukakku is one of my favorite Finnish recipes. When I was growing up, I would wrinkle my nose at the custard-like consistency of the Finnish pancake, but now it’s one of my favorite breakfasts. My husband, who never had this growing up, loves it too. I top it with a raspberry sauce, but any fruit topping would go really well with this dish. For the sauce, boil a pint of raspberries with a tablespoon of sugar and water.

Pannukakku

3 eggs, beaten

1/2 c. sugar

1/2 tsp. salt

3 c. milk

1/2 c. butter

1 3/4 c. four

Beat eggs. Add 1 c. milk and flour. Gradually add remaining milk, sugar and salt. Beat until thick and smooth. Melt butter in 9×13 pan in the microwave and pour most of it into the batter. Pour batter into baking pan and bake at 450 degrees for 30 minutes.

Leave a Reply

