A Summer Classic: Strawberry-Rhubarb Crisp

photo-42

Strawberry-Rhubarb Crisp is one of those recipes that takes me right back to my childhood. One bite of the warm oat topping, the sweet and sour fruit and the melted vanilla ice cream and I’m sitting in the screened-in porch at my best friend Morgan’s lake front family home in the summer time.

I grew up eating a lot of rhubarb. My mom grew it in our backyard and would take the fish heads from my dad’s catch and bury them in the soil. She said that it made her rhubarb thrive; and it did. My mom makes a fantastic strawberry-rhubarb pie. My favorite elderly family friend makes the best strawberry-rhubarb sauce – it’s supposed to go on ice cream but I eat it straight from the jar. She would make it special for me every summer. But my favorite rhubarb dish is Strawberry-Rhubarb Crisp; the dessert I was secretly hoping was in the oven every time I dropped in to visit my childhood friend.

Strawberry-Rhubarb Crisp

For the filling:

6 medium stalks rhubarb, cut into 1/2 inch pieces

2 cups strawberries, hulled and halved lengthwise

1/2 cup granulated sugar

For the topping:

1 cup all-purpose flour

1/2 cup old-fashioned rolled oats

1/3 cup granulated sugar

1/3 cup firmly packed brown sugar

1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon

1/4 teaspoon salt

1/2 cup unsalted butter, melted

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.

To make the filling, in a large bowl, stir together the rhubarb, strawberries and sugar until well mixed. Pour into a 2 1/2 quart baking dish and set aside.

In a large bowl, stir together the flour, rolled oats, granulated sugar, brown sugar, cinnamon and salt until blended. Stir in the melted butter until evenly moistened crumbs form. Spoon the crumb mixture evenly over the filling.

Bake the crisp until the rhubarb is tender and the juices are bubbling and the topping is golden brown.

Bake for 35-40 minutes. Serve warm with vanilla ice cream.

Leave a Reply

