A Birthday Tradition: Sweet and Sour Pork

photo-71

Every year on my birthday, my mom would make sweet and sour pork. It was my favorite childhood dish and I requested it for my special birthday dinner every year. I’ve carried on the tradition and still make it every year for my birthday, along with lemon meringue pie.

Sweet and Sour Pork

Ingredients

1 1/2 lbs. pork, cut into bite size pieces – I use pork tenderloin
3 T. vegetable oil
1 med. onion, chopped
1 green pepper, chopped
1 red pepper, chopped
1 rib celery, chopped
Pineapple – I use fresh pineapple
1 clove garlic, minced
Salt and pepper to taste

Saute onion, pepper and celery in oil for a few minutes. Remove from pan and set aside. In the same pan, brown pork, seasoning with garlic, salt and pepper to taste. Prepare sauce and pour over pork. Add veggies. Cover and simmer for 45 min or until tender.

For the sauce:

3/4 c. sugar
1/4 c. apple cider vinegar
1 T. soy sauce
1 T. lemon juice
1 T. ketchup
1 T. corn starch
1/4 c. – 3/4 c. chicken broth

Combine sugar, vinegar, soy sauce, lemon juice and ketchup. Mix well. Dissolve cornstarch in broth. Stir until thickens and clears.

Serve the Sweet and Sour Pork with white rice.

Leave a Reply

